top of page
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Pinterest

The Light Within - A Journey Through the Yoga Koshas

Updated: Dec 27, 2023

If you prefer to listen to this newsletter instead of reading it, then please click the photo.

You have a Light within you that shines brightly regardless of what you do, what you say, or the masks you wear. It doesn't demand you act a certain way or perform certain tasks in order to shine its unconditional Loving Light on and through you.

This Light is limitless and sees through all false beliefs you have created about yourself and the world.

It shines unconditionally through shame, fear, doubt, and unworthiness, melting these false beliefs like the sun melts the early morning fog.

You are so much more than the body you currently inhabit, the galaxy of thoughts that occupy your consciousness, the waves of emotions that flow through you. I have heard it said this way, "You are a Spiritual Being having a human experience."

The body is an entry point to Spirit, not a stopping point!

The Yogis say that the body is a gift and a temple for the Divine Spirit to shine through. Honor the body, care for it, and use it to access and recognize your limitless Nature.

Ancient Eastern scriptures describe five veils or sheaths you wear like layers of clothing covering the limitless Light within you. Each layer provides you with unique ways of interacting in the world. The body is only the first layer or the last layer depending on how you look at it.

These veils, or Koshas as they are called in Eastern philosophy, describe the different layers of the human being. They are also known as "sheaths" because they represent the different aspects of a person's being, from the physical body to the spiritual essence.

There are five Koshas, which are:

  • Annamaya Kosha (physical sheath) - This is the outermost layer and refers to the physical body. It is made up of the food we eat and represents the tangible, material aspect of our being.

  • Pranamaya Kosha (vital energy sheath) - This layer represents the vital energy or life force that animates the physical body. It includes breath, circulation, and other physiological functions that keep the body alive.

  • Manomaya Kosha (mental sheath) - This layer refers to the mind and includes thoughts, emotions, and sensory experiences. It is responsible for our perceptions, feelings, and beliefs.

  • Vijnanamaya Kosha (intellectual sheath) - This layer represents the intellect and is responsible for the ability to discern, reason, analyze, and understand. It is the source of wisdom and knowledge.

  • Anandamaya Kosha (bliss sheath) - This is the innermost layer and represents the spiritual essence. It is beyond the physical, mental, and intellectual aspects of our being and is characterized by a sense of inner peace, joy, and bliss without cause.

The Koshas are often depicted as layers of an onion, with each layer representing a deeper aspect of our being. By understanding and working with each Kosha, one can move towards greater freedom, self-awareness, and spiritual growth.

Understanding the Koshas can be beneficial for our daily lives in many ways, including:

  • Self-awareness: The Koshas offer a framework for understanding the different aspects of our being, from the physical body to our spiritual essence. By becoming more aware of each Kosha, we can gain a deeper understanding of ourselves and our experiences.

  • Holistic approach to health: The Koshas provide a holistic approach, recognizing that we are more than just our physical bodies. By addressing each Kosha, we can improve our overall well-being and health, including the physical body, but not limited to it.

  • Mental and emotional balance: The Koshas provide a deeper understanding of how the mind and emotions function. This understanding provides an entry to mental/emotional health and balance.

  • Spiritual growth: The Koshas recognize that we have a spiritual essence or True Self beyond the physical, mental, and intellectual aspects of our being. By understanding and connecting with the Anandamaya Kosha, we can experience a deeper sense of purpose and meaning in our lives.

  • Personal development: Working with the Koshas can help us to develop greater self-awareness, emotional intelligence, and spiritual growth, which can lead to personal transformation and a greater sense of fulfillment.

Understanding the Koshas can provide a comprehensive framework for physical, mental, and emotional health. As well as personal growth and development. When the Koshas are transparent and open, the Light behind them shines clearly for you. This allows you to live in this amazing world but not be limited by it.

Click here for Part 2 of this series on the Koshas called, Cultivating Your Light where I will provide you with a bit more history about the Koshas, and some practices you can do to allow your amazing Light to shine through!

In Loving Service,

Like this post and leave a comment to support my mission and let your light shine.

Awaken Your Inner Healer Journey Through the Koshas

6-Class series on the Koshas.

Click here for details and to register.

Use Code: 10%Off for a thank you for being an inspired reader discount.

Words for the Soul

Your weekly blog to inspire choices that lead to a fulfilled life of authenticity.

81 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All


Be Inspired!

Thanks for subscribing!

Recent Posts

bottom of page